AERNA Awards

AERNA awards the following prizes:

The  Award is given to the best  presentation at the AERNA  conference by a PhD Student or a PhD holder that has defended his/her thesis recently (last two years).

Two dimensions are taken into account with equal weight in order to select it:

  • Research substance: The originality and quality of the research idea is judged as well as the methodology and execution of the research and the interpretation of the results.
  • Presentation: The ability to convey the research and its results to the audience. The presenter’s quality of communication will also be an important consideration.



AERNA issues a prize of 1000€ for the best paper presented at the  AERNA Conference.

Award/ Call year Author Title of the presentation
  • V AERNA Award (2016)
María Victoria Román «What determines the magnitude of the economic impact of climate finance in recipient countries? A structural decomposition of value added creation between countries»
  • IV AERNA Award (2014)
Dra. Elsa Varela «Beyond the burnt area: insights on the social preferences for fire prevention management»
  • III AERNA Award (2012)
Dr. Jesús Barreal «El seguro forestal como herramienta de restauración tras los incendios forestales»
  • II AERNA Award (2010)
Dra. Julia Torralba Cano «Alteraciones climáticas locales: efectos económicos sobre una pesquería iberoatlántica»
  • I AERNA Award (2008)
Dr. Angel Bujosa «Considering environmental diversity in recreational choice modelling»


The  Award to the best paper  recognizes exemplary research published  by AERNA members. The Award is given biannually and announced at the AERNA Annual Conference. Two requirements are taken into account:

  • Paper: Any article published during the preceding two  years is eligible for this award
  • Authors:  At least 50% of the authors must be are members of AERNA.

Announcement of the Announcement of the IV AERNA AWARD FOR THE BEST PUBLISHED PAPER


AERNA issues a prize of 1000€ for the best paper  published in scientific journals during the past two years, in which at least 50% of the authors are members of AERNA.

Award/ Call year Author Citation
  • IV AERNA Award (2016)
Francisco J. André/ Sjak Smulders «Fueling growth when oilpeaks: Directed technological change and the límits to efficiency», European Economic Review
vol. 69, Pages 18–39, pag.29-43, (2014).
  • III AERNA Award (2014)
Michael Finus  /Pedro Pintassilgo «The role of uncertainty and learning for the success of internacional climate agreements», Journal of Public  Economics, vol. 103, pag.29-43, (2013).
  • II AERNA Award (2012)
Carmen Arguedas /D. Daan P. van Soest «On reducing the windfall profits in environmental subsidy programs», Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, vol. 58, pag. 192-205, (2009).
  • I AERNA Award (2010)
Nuria Osés-Eraso /Montserrat Viladrich-Grau «On the sustainability of common property resources», Journal of Environmental Economics and Management
vol. 53 (3) , pag. 393–410 (2007)