Board of Directors

The Association is managed  by the Board of Directors consisting of a President, an incoming President, a Secretary-Treasurer, a Communication and Publications Officer, an Education and Extension Officer and a Research Officer. All the positions that make up the Board of Directors are free and designated by the General Assembly. Its term of office shall be four years.

The powers of the Board of Directors are:

a) Represent, direct and manage the Association in the broadest manner recognized by the Law, and execute and enforce the decisions taken by the General Assembly, in accordance with the rules, instructions and guidelines established by the General Assembly.
b) To make the necessary agreements regarding the representation of the Association in front of the public organisms and to carry out all kinds of legal actions and to interpose the pertinent resources.
c) To propose to the General Assembly the defense of the interests of the Association.
d) To propose to the Assembly the fees or contributions to be paid by the members of the Association.
e) To process the admission or expulsion of members.
f)  Call the General Assembly.
g) Submit the balance and the financial statements of each year to the General Assembly for approval and prepare the budgets for the following year.
h) Elaborate the annual report of activities and to submit it for the approval of the General Assembly.
i)  Elaborate the Internal Regulation;
j)  Inspect the accounting and ensure the normal operation of the services of the Association.
k) Define the commissions or working groups to achieve the most efficient and effective the aims of the Association, and authorize the acts they plan to carry out, naming the members of the Board of Directors who will be responsible for each one of them.
l) Any other faculty that is not of exclusive competence of the General Assembly of partners.


Current Board of Directors:

Antantoni_riera_2_web-212x300oni Riera Font  (Santa Margarita, Balearic Islands, 1969) is linked to the Department of Applied Economics at the University of the Balearic Islands (UIB) from the year 1992, where he works as university professor.

Bachelor of Economics (1992) from the UIB, he obtained his PhD at the same university (1998). His research focuses on Environmental Economics –namely, economic valuation techniques that rely on discrete choice models– and Regional Economics –with special emphasis on the tourist sector. He founded the Research Group in Economic Analysis of Impacts of Tourism (AEIT), has directed several competitive research projects funded by the Government of Spain, the European Commission and the Government of the Balearic Islands and has also participated in many research contracts with public and private entities.

Throughout his academic career, he has directed the “Chair UNESCO / Sa Nostra for business management and the environment” (1998-2011), the “Economic Research Center” (2001-2013) and has led several training programs such as the “Master of Business Management: quality and environment” and the “International Master-Doctorate in Tourism Economics and the Environment”.

Awarded the PhD Prize, the seventh Catalonia Economics Prize Catalan Society of Economics and V Environment Prize from the Consell de Mallorca, he has published more than fifty articles in internationally renowned journals, including stand Annals of Tourism Research, Climatic Change, Economía Aplicada Ecological Economics, Environmental Management, Environmental Resources Economics, Journal of Forest Economics, Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, Journal of Travel Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Hacienda Pública Española, Tourism Economics, Tourism Management, among others. In addition, he has co-authored, among others, the Encyclopedia of Tourism and several chapters in international publishers such as Nova Science Publisher, Routledge and Witt Press .

He is currently the director of the doctoral program in Applied Economics of the UIB and research director of the ImpulsaBalears Foundation

Maria-LoureiroMaria Loureiro is associate professor at the Department of Economics, and Academic Secretary of the International Doctoral School at University of Santiago de Compostela (USC). She graduated in Economics from USC and has a doctoral degree from Washington State University (USA). In 2004 she returned to USC by the “Ramón y Cajal” program, incorporating foreign researchers to the Spanish university system. Previously, she served at Colorado State University (USA) and University Carlos III of Madrid.

She has published numerous articles in international journals, such as The American Journal of Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Economics, Ecological Economics, Environmental & Resource Economics, Energy & Resource Economics, Energy Economics, Energy Policy, Land Economics, Oxford Bulletin of Economics and Statistics and PLOS ONE, among others. Her work focuses  primarely on the analysis of economic incentives on conservation and pollution control, as well as environmental assessment.

She has been the principal investigator (PI) for research projects both from the National R + D Program, and the Sixth and Seventh Framework Programmes of the EU. She is also PI for the ECO-IURIS group; declared as a competitive group of reference by the Xunta de Galicia (2014-2017). Until now she has supervised 5 Doctoral dissertations and 10 Master theses. She received the Award for Young Researchers in Social Sciences from the Goverment of Galicia (2006) and the First Prize in Economics “Valentin Paz Andrade” (2014) granted by the Institute of Economic Development of Galicia (IDEGA). Nowadays, she is also part of the scientific committee of the journals “Revista de Economía Aplicada” and “Revista de Economía Agraria y Recursos Naturales.”  


Former Board of Directors:

Board of Directors (2011-2015)

  • President: Antoni Riera
  • First vice-president: Pedro Pintassilgo
  • Second vice-president: Alejandro Caparrós
  • Secretary: Maria Loureiro
  • Officers:  Alberto Ansuategi; Carmen Arguedas; Esther Blanco; Guiomar Martín-Herrán

Board of Directors (2011-2015)

  • President: Emilio Cerdá
  • First vice-president: Carmelo León
  • Second vice-president: Montserrat Viladrich
  • Secretary: Francisco J. André
  • Officers:  Carmen Arguedas; Maria José Gutiérrez; Maria Loureiro;  Àngels Xabadia

Board of Directors (2008-2011)

  • President: María Antonieta Cunha e Sá
  • First vice-president: Marta Escapa García
  • Second vice-president: Manuel Varela Lafuente
  • Secretary: María Clara Costa Duarte
  • Officers: Francisco J. André García; Alejandro Caparrós Gass; Antoni Riera Font; Catarina Roseta Palma

Board of Directors (2005-2008)

  • President: Pablo Campos Palacín
  • First vice-president: Rui Jorge Ferreira Dos Santos
  • Second vice-president: José Manuel Lima Santos
  • Secretary: Alejandro Caparrós Gass
  • Officers: Marta Escapa; Carlos Mario Gómez; Carmelo León; Catarina Roseta

Board of Directors (2002-2005)

  • President: Pablo Campos Palacín
  • First vice-president: Rui Jorge Ferreira Dos Santos
  • Second vice-president: Santiago Rubio
  • Secretary: Emilio Cerdá
  • Officers: Vicent Alcántara; Miguel Buñuel; Renan Goetz; Carlos Mario Gómez 


Meetings and minutes: